It’s rare that I drink shiraz of any kind, given Australia’s old reputation for jug wine-quality swill. I’m still not 100% sold on it, but this is a crowd pleaser, not a late night, love affair. The Third Generation Shiraz is dusty and super fruity on the nose, tasting of raspberries, red fruit leather, boysenberries, garnished with a few green notes of kale, parsley and easy peppers. This wine feels like it might have been chaptalized, but I could be wrong. The practice of adding sugar is taboo, and if I’m not mistaken, it is still taboo in Australia, and there is no labeling requirement, regrettably.

I really hate red fruit bombs for myself, but this is a fun little shiraz for those wine drinkers who are just past their love of soda that moved them to drink Corbet Canyon or Old Vines fizzy berry wines, and transitioning into more sophisticated palates.