I’ve been pleasantly surprised by this endeavor I’ve taken looking into sparkling rose. I purchased 3 more, two stateside and one from Greece. In retrospect, I’ve had the Greek sparkling rose before, but I want it with me on set for this next episode of Wine Whatevers.

Gruet Brut Rose: From New Mexico, USA. This sparkler is a beautiful, antique rose clor that is more concentrated in the center, than the bottom of the glass. the bubbles from Gruet Brut Rose are delicate, and centered, flowing quickly to the top, but without a foam layer on top. This wine is very dry, and highly acidic. I remember having this before, with the dinner I hosted before I took the Sommelier Exam. I paired it with Caprese salad on crostini, and it was perfect for cutting the fatty cheese and complemented the acid of the tomatoes. While the Gruet Brut Rose is not something that I’d serve without food, it certainly has it’s place.

Next up: Scharffenberger Brut Rose: From Mendocino County CA, USA. Scharffenberger Brut Rose is the palest rose I have seen to date. It appears to be an almost skin-tone peach, the barest blush on the cheeks of a pale woman. The bubbles are larger, gathering on the surface of the wine, creating a layer of fizz, not unlike soda. The aromas waft up to greet the nose, with peaches and cream, and sliced ripe strawberries under whipped cream. While it isn’t a terribly refined wine, it is intriguingly delightful. This wine is highly acidic, but the aromas are accurate to the flavors, strawberries, unsweetened peaches. I would pair this with pasta, tomato meat sauce, and garlic bread. It is a perfect accompaniment to an Italian dinner. The most frustrating thing is that none of the Champagne stoppers I own fit this bottle’s tiny neck, and thus, it must be shared, or dumped in libations in celebration of good company, should there be any present. In my case, a simple expandable stopper seems to plug it, though i a day or so, if I ignore it, the cork will shoot out scaring the be-geesus out of me.

I’m out of corks, and patience, so I will hold off on the review of the “Akakies” Sparkling Rose from Amyndeon Greece, vintage 2015. It’s deeper cherry, almost candied, than any of the other sparkling rose’s, and if memory serves, fruitier, and more approachable. It is a delightful example of the attitude that Greece it has been known for in the past, of jovial celebration, tradition, and mild revelry.

0321171948

